2 Aug 2021

Tewahedo Orthodox Girl

Be proud of our beautiful Tewahedo Orthodox faith. Be encouraged and full of faith.

Six Oriental Orthodox Churches…

St Mariam Coptic Orthodox Cathedral. Asmara. Eritrea. Africa.

  • Eritrean Orthodox Church
  • Ethiopian Orthodox Church
  • Coptic Orthodox Church of Egypt
  • Armenian Apostolic Church
  • Syriac Orthodox Church
  • Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church of India

We are part of the six Oriental Orthodox Churches, which is separate from the Eastern Orthodox Church. We as Oriental Orthodox Christians do NOT accept the Council of Chalcedon in AD 451.  This creed was adopted at the Fourth Ecumenical Council, held at Chalcedon (what is now Turkey). In AD 451, as a response to certain heretical views concerning the nature of Christ. This creed dogmatically defined that Christ is one divine Person with two natures (divine and human).  However, as part of the Oriental Orthodox Church, we believe that Jesus Christ, though divine as well as human, is with ONE nature.

Our Oriental Orthodox Church is one of the oldest religion in the world and has over 75 million members worldwide. That is amazing and wonderful to know considering it does not feel like that when we are the only person in class or at work who is from the Oriental Orthodox Church.

%d bloggers like this: